Jesus is Enough!!

The first time I saw Jesus in the bible I thought, “What type of man is this?” All I could say is, “Wow!!” “Did this man really exist?” I wondered if His story was a tall tale used by cunning men to trick people for mind control and manipulation. Then I looked at the society we live in and the condition of this world and wondered if He is so real then where why doesn’t he do something?

I grew up in Mobile, Alabama. When people think of Mobile, they usually associate it with being country and slow. Mobile is far from sticks, farms, and cowboys. It is rough in the inner city filled with gangs, violence, drugs, and mayhem. I survived it, but many of my childhood friends did not.  At the time, I thought my educational opportunities would help me escape. I moved to Atlanta in my early 20’s after graduating college with hopes and dreams to move to the big city and make it big. Unbeknownst to me, I quickly learned that the American dream without Jesus Christ can become the American nightmare.

I had a good job when I moved here. I was making decent money, yet I felt empty on the inside. I received two promotions within months. I felt like things were working in my favor. One day, my supervisor came to me and shared the gospel of Jesus Christ. Now growing up in a church, I thought undoubtedly heaven was my destination because I knew I would get in based on my good works and character. I did not understand the gospel nor did I understand Jesus because salvation is not by actions; it is by faith alone.

The supervisor told me about heaven being a place that Jesus Christ accepts people based on His love and His sacrifice for them. I want to mention that my coworkers had warned me about this zealous supervisor who loved to preach the bible to people unsuspectingly. So I prepared for his speech every time he walked by. He must have waited like Paul who waited for a few days to respond to the demon-possessed woman in Acts 16. The Spirit of God gave him the exact words to say to me that successfully overcame every argument I presented. He also prophesied to me about some things that only the Lord would know, and I left his presence amazed.

It was months later after the anguish of actually going through difficulties that I realized that I needed Jesus. I came to know Him as the Messiah. I understood that He died not only for the world’s sins but my sins personally. I repented and gave Him all of me. As a result, now, Jesus is my Savior, my Lord, my Healer, my Deliverer, my Righteousness, my Big Brother, my Teacher and He loved me then and He loves even more now. His love is genuine and not based on my performance. It is based on pure unadulterated, unconditional love. His love makes me free, and it makes me extremely happy.

I ask you today like Jesus asked His disciples in Matthew 16, “Who do you say Jesus is?” Let him be more than a religious figure who seems to be a legend of times past. Jesus Christ is not a philosopher with neat ideas that sound good to quote to others so that one may appear more righteous than others. He is not just a prophet who spoke things like other religious figures. No, My Jesus is alive now and always. He is the Alpha and the Omega. He is the soon coming King!!

Years have passed since that day that I was re-acquainted with Him, and I have seen Jesus move through my life over and over again. He has never disappointed me, and He will never disappoint you. I am still in love with Him because He truly loved me first. I am delighted with Him. I have come to the conclusion that Jesus is enough for me!

© Kurt and Treisa Lee Ministries

 

 

Leave a comment