Saving A Generation

Growing up in the inner city, I experienced a lot of things that I promised not to let my children go through. Things like the drive by shootings, the drug usage, the constantly watching over your shoulder, the fights and the murders. It is something that I will never forget as a child, I watched so many young people fall by the wayside. What most people do not understand is that there is a reason behind all the violence that takes place. When I was growing up, gangsta rap was on the scene. It heavily influenced our culture that we live in today. While, I am not going to use this blog to start a conspiracy theory, I will use the word of God as the standard that we should live by. Also, my goal is to go back in the community that I was once in bondage and let them see the light so they too can be set free.

Image result for dr dre chronic 2001

Image result for NWA Eazy E Gun

Image result for lil kim album coversImage result for old school rap Explicit Album Covers

 

Words spoken influence a culture. What do these images represent? Can you imagine some of the things that these artists are talking about in their music. Music is an art of expression but it is a way to make money as well. I was so influenced by this music that it made me think that to be accepted, I had to act a certain way. Like so many children today that are influenced by the music of the day, they are being brainwashed.

Proverbs 18:21

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue and those who love it will eat its fruit.”

While listening to this type of music, I was speaking it out of my mouth and I was eating the fruit of it. It is important to take an account of everything we hear and not just hear music just because it has a nice beat and everybody in the world is listening to it. If you walk with wise men you will become wise but if you walk with people who have no regard for God or people, you will eventually live foolish like them. Evil communications will eventually corrupt good manners. That means you can take an album and follow up with a movie or video and now everybody wants to live that character they see. For example, a kid in the suburbs will imitate the drugs, sex, violence they see or hear in the culture. It is a trap and an illusion. This was happening in the 90’s and it was spreading like wildfire. The remains of the seeds of gangsta rap is still seen today in many cities and neighborhoods not just across America but around the world.

Proverbs 14:12

“There is a way that seems right to a man but its end is the way of death.”

It is time now for those who survived that era of music to come to the front and have forums and discussions of what originated as fun into some serious vicious cycle of poverty, death, crime, drug usage, sexual diseases and prison for many. Talk to the youth of today and explain to them the consequences of their actions before it is too late. Once they become a victim of the system, they can blame no one else but themselves. The devil will tempt you with the world and then leave you holding the bag when the time comes for the harvest of what you are doing. My eyes have been opened a long time ago.

In 2000, when I got born again, I could not stop cussing although I was filled with the Spirit of God, went to church and read my Bible regularly. The problem came one day when I was traveling to work and I was listening to Outkast and I was trying not to curse. They were using curse words like every other lyric and the Holy Spirit informed me that the music was my problem. If I stopped the seed of negative influence in my life, then the negative fruit would stop. Guess what happened? I stopped cursing and stopped smoking, adultery and many other vices that I could not shake.

Proverbs 4:23

“Guard (Keep) your heart with all negligence for out of it flows all the issues of life.”

How will we reach this generation? Take away the old and put in the new. You may not stop an entire billion dollar industry but you can stop the teenager in your family from being influenced by it. You will never change a world that you are comfortable in yourself. Come out from among the generation you were influenced by and show this next generation the truth about words and its effect that it has on them. God is longing for a generation that praises and glorifies Him and not the devil.

Image result for crowd of youth praising god at a concert

© Kingdom Now Ministries

Leave a Reply

