Patience is a Virtue

Today I want to talk to you about the word patience. Patience is something that we all could use more of in our lives. Let me tell you my story of what happened today and let you be the judge on whether or not I displayed any patience. Let me caution you, I am not the master of patience but in my story, you will see how when someone is patient, it can be rewarding.

Today I received a call from a mentor and he told me to go and purchase a book as a leader. I called two bookstores in my area on the way home. I was hoping that they would have the book since it is by a popular author who has published over 100 books. To my dismay, one bookstore did not have it and the other bookstore no longer existed.

So I figure I would go to the large bookstore, Books-A- Million. It was on my way home and I figured this would only take a few minutes to go and grab this book. Boy, was I wrong. I tried to find it in one section of the store but, it wasn’t there. I then went and asked a sales associate to help me find the book. She checks the inventory and assures me that one book is on the floor. Yet when we went to that section, we could not find it. This goes on for about 10 minutes when a store manager shows up and he looks determined to find this book. However, with six eyes looking for the book, no one found it. Then the Store Manager tells the other clerk to see if it can be ordered and shipped to the house. She goes and checks the system and it can be. Finally, I am thinking, “I can go home now.” Not so fast. To the clerk’s surprise, she did not know how to handle this type of transaction. So I had to wait for the clerk who was already at the front register to finish with other customers to ring me up. This took a few minutes. Then when she got on the scene, she could not figure it out either. They had to call over another manager to help with this transaction.

I have been on the other side of that counter so I know that they are trying as hard as humanly possible to get this book. So I remained calm throughout the process. Sometimes, this is not the case especially in the world of retail. People get upset if you waste their time. Finally after that manager arrives, she figures out the transaction and I am all set and on my way. The whole ordeal from the phone call from my mentor to the time I ordered the book took 2 1/2 hours.  They thanked me for my patience and offered me a free coffee from the coffee shop. I thought it was a nice gesture but I used the opportunity to develop patience.

Image result for joe muggs hot coffee in a cup

I said all that to say something you may have heard before which is, “Good things come to those who wait.” What I am saying is that, if you have a little patience with things and people around you , you will eventually be rewarded. It may not come immediately, but the reward of patience will always come.

Galatians 6:9

“And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.”

Image result for Patience

 

© Kingdom Now Ministries

Leave a Reply

